December 28, 2013 § 1 Comment

I am addicted to list-articles. So naturally, I had to join the reflection trend, and provide you guys with a list of my five most beloved books of 2013.

1. The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan

Far from the romanticised lycanthropes of paranormal literature, Duncan’s werewolf is raw and confronting. At times gruesome, always lyrical, The Last Werewolf is unexpectedly moving. If you’re refusing to read it because it’s about a werewolf, you probably couldn’t handle it anyway. (Yes, that is an attempt at reverse psychology. Just go and read it.)

I know, you're sick of seeing "Keep Calm" posters. But this one will work, I swear!

I know, you’re sick of seeing “Keep Calm” posters. But this one will work, I swear!

2. Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy

I’ll spare my regular readers yet more rhapsodising about Skulduggery Pleasant, and simply direct you to the post where I rambled about how much I loved it for ten dot points. Why these books don’t have a bigger following, I will never understand.

3. Bury Me Deep by Megan Abbott

Megan Abbott is my most cherished discovery of 2013. I read Bury Me Deep after Die a Little and Dare Me, and by the time I finished it, Abbott had well and truly altered my opinion of crime fiction. Famous for her retro noir and for the femme fatales that also feature as protagonists, Megan Abbott is an underrated gem. Bury Me Deep is the second book on this list that I only found because I listened to the recommendation of my friends at Pulp Fiction. Thanks guys!

4. More Than This by Patrick Ness

I don’t know why I put off reading Patrick Ness until this year. More Than This is both mind-bending and emotionally resonant, and I carried it around for four days straight until I finished it. Recalling the psychological torment of The Matrix, More Than This is also an exploration of a young man’s first relationship. I really liked the fact that the protagonist’s relationship is a same-sex one, but this is simply par for the course in the novel, and not a feature point. Highly recommended.

5. Red Moon by Benjamin Percy

Red Moon raised the bar for supernatural novels in 2013. It’s filled with action, military intrigue and thinly veiled social commentary, and I loved every page. At the risk of sounding like a bland movie review, I have to go ahead and give it five stars. If you thought Cronin’s The Passage was addictive, cancel your plans for a few days and pick up a copy of Red Moon.

THANK YOU I’d like to thank a few people for their help, support and encouragement throughout 2013.
Ana and the team of Books Rock My World for their unending encouragement and their friendship from all corners of the globe. We admins are kindred spirits.
Beau, Iain and Ron of Pulp Fiction Booksellers, for your recommendations, advice, endless knowledge and for being the best bookstore I know of.
All the publishers, agents and authors who generously offered me review copies of their novels. I’m sorry that I couldn’t read them all, but the fact that you offered means the world. Thank you.
Alex, my old friend, and Nicola, my new, who submitted guest reviews. Thank you for your contributions!

Wishing you all the happiest year in 2014. May it be filled with the books that will change you for the better.

§ One Response to

  • annettejongen says:

    Thank you very much for this useful list! Some of these books are on my ‘to read’ pile, now I’ll put them om top!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at The Novelettes Book Reviews.

meta

